SOUNZtender – the concert, Sunday 30 May

As 2010 NZ Music Month draws to a close, the Centre for New Zealand Music (SOUNZ) will present a concert of five world-premieres in the Ilott Theatre, Wellington Town Hall.

At 11:30am on Sunday, 30th May, five exciting new works by Eve de Castro-Robinson, Chris Gendall, Ross Harris, John Psathas and Gillian Whitehead, will be premiered by pianists Diedre Irons, Gao Ping and Donald Nicolson, as well as NZSO clarinetist Phil Green and the New Zealand String Quartet.

Tickets are available online through Ticketek for just $20, plus a booking fee.

For more information about the concert (including links to the composers, works, performers and booking):

175 East concerts

175 East announce their first concerts of 2010 in Christchurch and Auckland. The concerts include the world premieres of works by New Zealand composers Alexandra Hay, Samuel Holloway, Dylan Lardelli, Chris Watson and Alex Wolken.

The ensemble is joined by guest guitarist Dylan Lardelli who performs in his own new composition, commissioned by 175 East with funding from Creative New Zealand.

The concerts will be preceded by solo guitar improvisations by Greg Malcolm (Christchurch) and Nigel Gavin (Auckland).

7pm Friday April 9, Maurice Till Concert Hall, Music Centre of Christchurch, 140 Barbadoes Street
$20/$10 (door sales only)

7pm Sunday April 11, Herald Theatre, Aotea Centre
*Service fees will apply
Book now at or 0800 BUY TICKETS
*$11 per order via phone, $5 per order via web, $1.50 per ticket via mail via box office.

"North Winds, South Winds"

A concert of New Zealand wind music by the Auckland Wind Orchestra, conducted by Ryan Youens.

Don’t miss this wonderful event featuring selections from New Zealand’s finest wind music.

Aue! – Christopher Marshall
The Ballad of Settler McGee – Philip Norman
Earthbound Wings – Yvette Audain
Far Star – Matthew Crawford
Forest Sketches – David Woodcock
Guardians of the North – Ryan Youens

Including two premieres:
The Pensieve – Zyia-Li Teh
Rotorua – Phillip Anderson

$10 waged, $5 unwaged (door sales only)

The Committee Clocktower Concert 2008

The Committee presents a concert of new works in Auckland University clocktower

Titled ‘Out Of Order’, this will be The Committee’s Fourth Clocktower concert – in as many years.

Composers include:
Anthony Young
Yvette Audain
Claire Scholes
Peter Willis
Ben Cragg
Sam Hamilton
Andrew McMillan
Chris O’Connor

Performers will include:
Claire Scholes
Peter Scholes
Yvette Audain
Chris O’Connor
and The Amazonian Amphibian Choir

The important details:
The Committee presents ‘Out of Order’
University of Auckland Clocktower, 22 Princes St
Friday August 29th at 7.30pm
$10 waged/$5 unwaged (tickets at the door only)


The Committee Clocktower Concert 'The Minutes' Friday 21st September

The Committee presents The Minutes, a concert of new works by Auckland composers in the wonderfully resonant Auckland University Clocktower foyer. Performers include tenor Jack Bourke, The Jade String Quartet, Daniel Stabler, Yvette Audain and a saxophone quartet. Supported by Creative New Zealand.

Leonie Holmes Fragment, for string quartet
Andrew McMillan obstacle, for double bass (Daniel Stabler)
Yvette Audain bulletproof petals, for sax quartet
Daniel Stabler quinn, for string quintet
Anthony Young Sweet, for tenor and sax quartet
Charlotte Rose The Awfulisers, for tenor and bass
Ben Cragg The Peopled Wound
Andy Powdrell Busking with Ducks, sax solo (Yvette Audain)
Peter Willis Little Song, for tenor and string quartet

University of Auckland Clocktower, 22 Princes St
Friday September 21st at 7.30pm
$15 waged/$10 unwaged (tickets at the door only)
Complementary nibbles courtesy of Foodtown Quay St

Mette Leroy plays new New Zealand works in Auckland

Flautist Mette Leroy has commissioned four new works for flute from New Zealand composers as part of her DMA research and will present these in the concert FLUTE21 on Saturday 28th July. These new works – by John Elmsly, Samuel Holloway, Eve de Castro-Robinson and John Rimmer – will be performed with works by Aitken, Crumb and Dutilleux.

7.30pm, Saturday 28th July.
School of Music, University of Auckland.

Weekend of NZ music in Wellington

A series of events featuring new music in Welington:

Thursday 24 May: 6pm Hunter Council Chamber, VUW
Launch of a new Waiteata score by Lyell Cresswell, and a performance of his complete solo piano works by Stephen de Pledge.

Friday 25 May: 1.10pm Adam Concert Room, NZSM
A concert of solo piano repertoire, including new works by Cresswell, Lardelli and Norris

• 6.30pm Michael Fowler Centre
NZSO perform New Zealand music, including a new work by Eve de Castro-Robinson, and John Psathas’s first Saxophone Concerto

• 8pm and during the rest of the week, except Monday @ Te Whaea
Contemporary dance to NZ works, including some new works by James Dunlop

Myriad choral concerts
Also look out for separate concerts by Wellington Youth Choir, Wellington members of Tower Voices, and Baroque Voices during the weekend

Baroque Voices – "Alleluia: a newe work!"

Medieval European music and Contemporary NZ works for unaccompanied voices; including works by John Psathas, Helen Bowater, Jason Kaminski, Ivan Patterson, Pepe Becker, Mark Smythe & Carol Shortis (premiere performance of new work: “Tangi”).

8pm, Sunday 27th May 2007, Wellington Cathedral of St Paul, Molesworth St.

Admission: $25, $15. Bookings: tel. 973 6607 or email:

175 East premiere new works by Phil Dadson and Ross Harris

175 East perform Phil Dadson’s Peace Rites and The Sleep of Reason… by Ross Harris as well as Lacrimae by Lyell Cresswell and James Gardner’s Throat Clearing

plus music by Aaron Cassidy, Morton Feldman, Michael
Finnissy, and Wolfgang Rihm with guest performers Richard Haynes (clarinet and soprano sax) and Mark Knoop (piano)

Tickets (door sales only)
$20 ($10 concs)