REMINDER: NZ Electroacoustic Music Symposium 2010

1 September 2010 to 3 September 2010

The School of Music at The University of Auckland will again host this 3-day research symposium on the topic of electroacoustic music. Several of New Zealand’s prominent composer-researchers will be in attendance, including John Elmsly, Eve de Castro Robinson, John Coulter, Ian Whalley, Susan Frykberg, Michael Norris, John Cousins, and Chris Cree Brown. Professor John Young (DMU) will be delivering the keynote presentation. As a special feature of the symposium, a 26-channel discrete ‘acousmonium’ will be installed in Studio One, Kenneth Myers Centre, 74 Shortland St, for the duration of the 3-day event.

Concerts open to the public

Sonic Art 2010
7pm, Thursday 2 September

Works by associate artists of NZEMS 2010, including Arrivederci (for ensemble) and electroacoustic music by Professor John Young.

Tickets: $15 full price, $10 concessions
Venue: Music Theatre, School of Music, 6 Symonds Street, Auckland

Diffused Works Lunchtime Series
1pm Wednesday 1 September: Young composers
1pm Thursday 2 September: Video works
1pm Friday 3 September: Established composers

Admission free, but seating is limited – bookings required. Contact
Venue: Studio One, Kenneth Myers Centre, 74 Shortland Street, Auckland

NZEMS 2010 is proudly supported by Protel.