Arditti Quartet International Call for New Works for String Quartet

Early-career composers are invited to submit new string quartets for rehearsal in a public workshop with the Arditti Quartet. Selected works will be performed in a public concert.

Deadline for receipt of scores: 1 December 2011

Submit one score (maximum duration 10 minutes) and curriculum vitae to: Paul Archbold, Institute of Musical Research, Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU

Composition workshops 23-24 January 2012, 10:00-17:00, Court Room, Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU

Concert: 25 January 2012, 19:30, St Giles’s Cripplegate, Fore Street, Barbican, Cripplegate, London, EC2Y 8DA

For information, please email
Dr Paul Archbold
Institute of Musical Research
School of Advanced Study, University of London Senate House, Malet Street,
London WC1E 7HU
Tel: 020 7664 4866 (direct)

The Molinari Quartet's Fifth International Competition for Composition

The Molinari Quartet is pleased to announce its Fifth International Competition for Composition for string quartet.

Composers are invited to submit an original work for string quartet. The best compositions will be played in concert during the Molinari Quartet’s Twentieth and Beyond series to be held in Montreal (Quebec, Canada) during the 2012-2013 season.

The jury will be comprised of the Molinari Quartet’s artistic director and its musicians, in addition to well-known Canadian composers Jean Lesage et Nicols Gilbert who will determine four winners. The winning compositions will be performed by the Molinari Quartet during a special concert during the 2012-2013 season. After the concert performance the jury will deliberate and choose the order of the winners. The First Prize winner shall receive a $3000 grant as well as a silkscreen by renowned Canadian artist Guido Molinari. The second prize winner will receive a $2000 grant and the third prize winner a $1000 grant. The jury reserves the right not to grant all three prizes.

The winners will be invited to work with the Molinari Quartet prior to the concert and to participate in the Dialogues at the Chapelle, a public workshop of discussions and analysis produced by the Molinari Quartet.

Rules for Eligibility:

· Candidates must be 40 years old or less as of April 1st 2012, the due date for registration.
· The work must not exceed 20 minutes.
· Only works for string quartet that have neither been performed professionnally nor published as of April 1st 2012 shall be accepted.
· Scores must be received by the Molinari Quartet at the latest April 1st 2012. (The post
office stamp shall be recognized as the receiving date)
· Registration fees of $25 CAN must accompany all scores.
· A candidate may submit more than one work, but each work must be sent separately.
· Parts and scores shall remain the property of the Molinari Quartet.
· The candidate must send a score as well as separate playing parts to the Molinari Quartet.
· All scores must be sent anonymously; only a pseudonym can appear on the score pages.
· The candidate shall also send a sealed envelope bearing his or her pseudonym which will contain his or her name, postal address, e-mail address, telephone number, birth date, resumé as well as a statement as to the fact that the work is yet unpublished and that it has never been performed.
· The composer whose work has been chosen as one of the winning compositions, will not receive any extra payment for the execution or recording of the work.
· The winners of the competition commit themselves to find the necessary funding for a stay in Montreal to work with the Molinari Quartet and assist to the performance in the 2012-2013 season.

Competition Calendar:

Competition launch: September 2011
Due date for registration and receiving scores: April 1 st 2012
Jury: May 2012
Announcement of winners: May 2012
Winners Concert: 2012-2013 season

Please send the scores to :

Molinari Quartet
P.O. Box 56536
Montreal, Quebec
Canada H1W 3Z3

For more information write to : qm@quatuormolinari.qc.caor call 514-527-5515

2013 USA International Harp Competition


· $2,000 USD cash award
· Inclusion on the 2013 USA International Harp Competition’s required repertoire list
· Performed by the Gold Medalist at the competition and related debut recitals
· Publication by Lyon & Healy Harps
· Inclusion on the 2013 USA International Harp Competition First Prize Winner’s CD recording
produced by Lyon and Healy Harps


· Duration: 6-8 minutes
· Instrumentation: solo harp (other instruments may be included if played by the harpist)
· Eligibility: work must be unpublished, unawarded and not have been recorded for commercial distribution
· Previous winners are not eligible
· Submissions: Online Application Form, PDF of anonymous score, MP3 recording played by harpist


· October 30, 2012. Online application form, short bio, PDF of anonymous score
· November 30, 2012. MP3 recording of submitted work played by a harpist. No digital or midi recordings will be accepted
· January 30, 2013. Winning composition announced


· To learn more about the USA International Harp Composition Contest, or to obtain an application form please visit the USA IHC website Click on 2012 Composition Contest and then on Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).

· For additional questions contact Dr. Ruth K. Inglefield, Composition contest Chair: