NZSO-NYO Composer-in-Residence competition

The NZSO NYO is inviting applications for the fifth Composer-in-Residence competition to be held in early 2009. The selected composer will travel to Wellington, when the NYO meets in July for its special 50th anniversary season , to participate in the rehearsals of their original composition and to attend public concert performances in Wellington, Dunedin, Christchurch and Auckland.

The prize includes Sibelius music software latest version with free training from MusiTech Ltd as well as guidance from the 2009 NZSO NYO Conductor Paul Daniel.

• Entrants must be a New Zealand resident or citizen.
• Composers must be 25 years of age or younger on 27 June 2009.
• Maximum 5 minutes duration.
• All entries must be submitted in computer generated format on unbound single-sided A4 paper. A complete instrumentation listing must be provided at the beginning of the score as well as the duration.
• One entry per person, work to be for full symphony orchestra without soloists; concert opener, overture/fanfare type.
• Maximum instrumentation is as follows: 3333 4431 timpani 4 percussion 2hp strings (including piccolo, English horn, Eb clarinet, bass clarinet and contrabassoon)
• The entry must be a fully original work, not previously offered to any other organization. It must not have been performed in rehearsal, concert or workshop.
• If the work is selected the composer must provide one single-sided A4 copy of the score and each part by Monday 9 March 2009. A programme note, biography (about 250 words) and photo should be sent to the NZSO NYO Manager no later than Thursday 30 April 2009.
• The NZSO NYO reserves the right to disqualify any entry that does not adhere to these requirements.

For further information contact Pascale Parenteau,
NZSO National Youth Orchestra
PO Box 6640, Wellington 6141
tel 04 801 3862, fax  04 801 3891

The Molinari Quartet's Fouth International Competition for Composition

The Molinari Quartet, in collaboration with ATMA Classique, is pleased to announce its Fourth International Competition for Composition for string quartet.

Composers are invited to submit an original work for string quartet. The best compositions will be played in concert during the Molinari Quartet’s Twentieth and Beyond series to be held in Montreal (Quebec, Canada) during the spring of 2010.

The jury will be comprised of the Molinari Quartet’s artistic director and its musicians, in addition to well-known Canadian composers Brian Cherney and Ana Sokolovic who will determine four winners. The jury reserves the right not to grant all three prizes. The winning compositions will be performed by the Molinari Quartet during a special concert in the spring of 2010. The First Prize winner shall receive a $3000 grant as well as a silkscreen by renowned Canadian artist Guido Molinari. The second prize winner will receive a $2000 grant and the third prize winner a $1000 grant. Furthermore, the winning compositions will be recorded by ATMA Classique for online distribution. The winners will be invited to work with the Molinari Quartet prior to the concert and to participate in the Dialogues at the Chapelle, a public workshop of discussions and analysis produced by the Molinari Quartet.

Rules for Eligibility:

* Candidates must for 40 years old or less as of April 1st 2009, the due date for registration.
* The work must not exceed 20 minutes.
* Only works for string quartet that have neither been performed or published as of April 1st 2009 shall be accepted.
* Scores must be received by the Molinari Quartet at the latest April 1st 2009. (The post
office stamp shall be recognized as the receiving date)
* Registration fees of $25 CAN must accompany all scores.
* A candidate may submit more than one work, but each work must be sent separately.
* Scores shall remain the property of the Molinari Quartet.
* The candidate must send a score as well as separate playing parts to the Molinari Quartet.
* All scores must be sent anonymously; only a pseudonym can appear on the score pages.
* The candidate shall also send a sealed envelope bearing his or her pseudonym which will contain his or her name, postal address, e-mail address, birth date, resumé as well as a statement as to the fact that the work is yet unpublished and that it has never been performed.
* The composer whose work has been chosen as one of the winning compositions, will not receive any extra payment for the execution or recording of the work.
* The winners of the competition commit themselves to find the necessary funding for a stay in Montreal to work with the Molinari Quartet and assist to the performance in the spring of 2010.

Competition Calendar:

Launch in September 2008
Due date for registration and receiving scores: April 1 st 2009
Jury: May 2009
Announcement of winners: May 14 2009
Winners Concert: Spring 2010

Please send the scores to :

Molinari Quartet
P.O. Box 56536
Montreal, Quebec
Canada H1W 3Z3

For more information write to :
or call 514-527-5515